Exposure to Environmental Elements

Exposure
anitque-n-maskBoots or shoes, cloth, leather or Tyvek, my choices for when I step out into the weather for a walk. My dog, he’s young, new to me, doesn’t have the luxury of choice. I have yet to purchase booties for him so he has to deal with the exposure of the environments I choose. Sunday the two of us chose to walk the banks of the local reservoir. Locally, this time of year the reservoirs are dropped so they accommodate the spring rains. This gives Geordie and me the opportunity to walk long miles on mostly unfettered stretches of land. Since it is a reservoir, broken glass, remnants of trees, fresh water clams, and old metal shards are at times found, and need to be navigated around.  When Geordie began limping I pulled up short and examined the foot he favored. Immediately, I recognized the fact I do not handle his feet enough because he unwillingly offed me a good look. With his effort to pull the foot away, I checked between the toes and around the pads, saw nothing, cleared out the detritus and we moved on. The limping ceased and I put another item on my “to do” list; put the dog up on the counter and handle his feet more.

Leave a Reply

