No Meds Needed

DSC01119-1Convergence of the universe: my girls are old and both have ailments. In January, Hummel had a puncture wound, a through and through, in her right foot. I had doctored her and had thought I had it healed but she had turned up lame in that same foot a day ago. I checked and sure enough I felt a ball of what I had thought to be puss. I took her to the vet this a.m., with my heart in my throat, I took her in the room and waited for the vet to show up. I am one of the fortunate people – it was only a compacted hair ball located deep in between the pads!!!! The vet clipped it and a second one out. Happy Dance!!! NO medical treatment needed.

This vet’s appointment method is a first come first serve basis. You simply show up in the a.m. The door opens at 0800hrs. In 16 degree weather, I arrived at 0710hrs. I was the second car in the lot. When the third car arrived the three of us got out of our cars to respectfully take our place in line. No matter when you arrive, you must be in line to maintain your place. There was a wind and it was hard on the exposed surfaces. There were two cats, one on either side of me and the fourth critter in line was a boxer, an old boxer. So after making sure I could go after my dog without losing my place in line, I brought back Hummel, a heavy towel and her doggie coat for the boxer. I knew the heavy towel would stay on her coat due to the nature of the furtles but I felt the boxer needed the Velcro staying power. The dog’s owner was appreciative; once in side, he gave back the coat. The free for all does give the pet community a chance to get to know each other better and sometimes even empathize with each other.

Leave a Reply

