Rainy Day = Bean Soup

Bean Soup, we had mentioned this topic the other night and it is on the menu for tonight. I cook mine in the crockpot – it

Soup of The Day

Soup of The Day

makes life simple. I put it on high heat for most of the day, let it boil like crazy for at least 2.5 hours and then if the beans are soft enough it will then be turned on low. I also put soda in the mix, it releases something in the beans shell and they will cook down better.
1 – 2 cups of beans (I cover the bottom of my cooker – today, black beans, chick peas, and red pintos beans)
Water at least 1 – 2 inches over the beans. The beans will absorb a lot of this water. If you like a thicker soup, add less water or remove the lid later to allow the water to cook off. (I put some of my excess broth over the dogs’ kibble. You’ll get a big slurppy kiss for that.)
Kale – my dogs love kale and it is so good for you!
Carrots
Onion
Cumin powder – this is new today – it is an excellent anti-oxident.
Black pepper
Salt
Green peppers (this year’s garden did not produce any, yikes! today’s from the freezer)
Salsa! – I keep a giant container of this on hand, I pour an amount in; a little for a mild taste and a lot for a stronger taste. Salsa is perfect – it has lots of great ingredients: onions, peppers, seasoning, tomatoes.

(The other night, my girls while eating my bean soup, would step back, take a breath and then dive in again. I don’t make it crazy hot, simply with a robust flavor. On this night, I think the soup was heavy with an exquisite black pepper.)

This is an all day event. The longer it cooks the better the soup. Some of the left over soup can be ladled off, allow the broth to drain back to the soup and then put the beans into a wrap with a little cheese.
Nom, nom!

Leave a Reply

